Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band started their Rock and Roll Never Forgets Tour Wednesday night at the Huntington Center in Toledo, Ohio, where he began his last tour in 2011. Playing to a sold-out crowd, Seger turned in a 24-song, two-and-a-half hour set. His former road manager and photographer, Tom Weschler, co-author of the Seger book, Travelin’ Man, tells us Seger sounded as good as he did in the ’60s and ’70s.

Taking time out from recording a new album to do this tour, Seger opened with a new song, the appropriately titled “Detroit Made,” which was written by John Hiatt. He did two other new songs -- “All the Roads” and Wilco’s “California Stars,” and “Like a Rock” returned the set after 25 years with audience remembering and singing every word. Seger ended the night with two encores containing two songs each, with the tour’s title track, “Rock and Roll Never Forgets” closing it out. Show number-two is Friday, also in Toledo. The tour runs through April 18th in Buffalo, New York, but a few more dates are expected to be added.

Bob Seger opening night set list:

1) Detroit Made
2) Trying to Live My Life Without You
3) Fire Down the Road
4) Main Street
5) Old Time Rock & Roll
6) All the Roads
7) Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man
8) Nutbush City Limits
9) Betty Lou’s Gettin’ Out Tonight
10) Like a Rock
11) Travelin’ Man
12) Beautiful Loser
13) Roll Me Away
14) Come to Papa
15) Her Strut
16) California Stars
17) We Got Tonight
18) Turn the Page
19) Sunspot Baby
20) Katmandu

First encore:
21) Against the Wind
22) Hollywood Nights

Second encore:
23) Night Moves
24) Rock and Roll Never Forgets

Here's a video of Seger performing his new song!