Neil Young has reunited with Promise of the Real for his 39th solo studio effort, The Visitor.

The 10-track set, due in stores Dec. 1 and available to pre-order now, marks Young's first studio recording with the band since 2015's The Monsanto Years; he subsequently collaborated with them again the following year, for the live/studio hybrid outing Earth. Fans who pre-order a digital edition of the album will get an immediate download of the opening track and lead-off single, "Already Great," which you can check out above while looking over the complete track listing below.

The Visitor follows closely on the heels of Young's most recent release, Hitchhiker, which arrived in September and exhumed a collection of long-vaulted performances from the '70s. Young alluded to the new album's arrival while promoting Hitchhiker, saying, "Some have noted after hearing this that this recording may be a high-water mark for me heard to match. Yet here we are, 40 years later, and the visitor will arrive soon with his own ideas."

While it's been a characteristically busy year for Young on the musical front, it's also been atypically quiet in terms of public appearances. Earlier this year, he announced he'd be stepping away from the long-running Bridge School benefit, and the 2017 edition of Farm Aid has been his only high-profile performance in recent months.

Neil Young and Promise of the Real, 'The Visitor' Track Listing
"Already Great"
"Fly By Night Deal"
"Almost Always"
"Stand Tall"
"Change of Heart"
"Diggin’ a Hole"
"Children of Destiny"
"When Bad Got Good"

More From KYBB-FM / B102.7