Law enforcement officials in South Dakota have announced the October locations for sobriety checkpoints around the state.

After setting up sobriety checkpoints in 16 different counties in September, the Department of Public Safety has announced plans to expand to 16 counties this month.

In a press release, the DPS outlined the counties impacted:

KYBB-FM / B102.7 logo
Get our free mobile app


  • Beadle County
  • Brookings County
  • Brown County
  • Brule County
  • Charles Mix County
  • Clay County
  • Codington County
  • Day County
  • Fall River County
  • Jones County
  • Lincoln County
  • Meade County
  • Minnehaha County
  • Pennington County
  • Spink County
  • Stanley County

As is typical with these announcements, the exact dates, times, and locations of each checkpoint are not being disclosed.

The monthly checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

LOOK: Food history from the year you were born

From product innovations to major recalls, Stacker researched what happened in food history every year since 1921, according to news and government sources.

Sioux Falls' Most Underrated Restaurants

More From KYBB-FM / B102.7