The NBADL includes an international experience when teams play the Raptors 905. A quick search through some history shows an extensive travel log for the Sioux Falls Skyforce.

Toronto formed their NBA Development League team and based it in nearby Mississauga, breaking new ground for the Association’s minor league. Every squad in the Eastern Conference and a few select teams in the Western Conference will go north of the border.

It’s not the first time that the Sioux Falls franchise has ventured north. During the 2001-02 campaign Saskatoon, Saskatchewan was part of the Continental Basketball Association. Also it’s not the only time the CBA went international. For one season a franchise was based in Mexico City and the ‘Force played south of the border.

In all, Sioux Falls during their 27 seasons played in 33 states, 2 Canadian provinces and Mexico. Below is the list of destinations with state number 34 arriving next year when the NBADL expands to Greensboro, North Carolina. (Current D-League teams in italics)

South Dakota: Sioux Falls, Rapid City (the Thrillers were a natural rival at the franchise’s inception)
California: Bakersfield, Santa Cruz, Los Angeles, Anaheim (formerly the Arsenal), San Jose, Santa Barbara, San Diego (state with the most locations)
Texas: Frisco (Legends), Hidalgo (Vipers), Austin, Fort Worth (formerly the Flyers), Wichita Falls
Illinois: Moline, Chicago, Rockford (Hoffman Estates will have a NBADL team in 2016 owned and operated by the Bulls)
Ohio: Canton, Columbus (CBA), Cincinnati (IBL)
Oklahoma: Oklahoma City, Tulsa (Both cities had CBA franchises also)
Michigan: Grand Rapids, Flint, Saginaw (the one near Saginaw was dubbed Great Lakes)
Iowa: Des Moines (Energy), Cedar Rapids
Indiana: Fort Wayne, Gary (Duane Ticknor was a coach in both cities plus Sioux Falls)
Pennsylvania: Erie, Pittsburgh
New York: White Plains (Knicks), Albany (with Uniondale joining in 2016 as Brooklyn's affiliate)
North Dakota: Fargo, Bismarck (where the Dakota Wizards once were)

Florida: Pensacola, West Palm Beach
Washington: Yakima, Kennewick (the Kennewick franchise was dubbed Tri-Cities)
Kansas: Topeka
Nebraska: Omaha (the Racers still smarting from their 158-88 demolition on 12/13/94)
Wisconsin: LaCrosse
Alabama: Birmingham
Minnesota: Rochester
Louisiana: Shereveport
Connecticut: Hartford
Idaho: Boise (Stampede are the only holdover from the CBA days)
New Mexico: Albuquerque (both with franchises in the D-League and the IBL)(the IBL move was necessitated because of the CBA shutdown in 2001)
Missouri: St. Louis (IBL)
New Jersey: Trenton (IBL)
Virginia: Richmond (IBL)
Utah: Orem (formerly the Flash)
Arkansas: Little Rock (formerly the Rim Rockers)
Colorado: Broomfield (formerly the 14ers)
Nevada: Reno
Maine: Portland (Red Claws)
Massachusetts: Springfield (formerly the Armor)
Delaware: Newark (87ers)

Fortunately the handles on the suitcase are still attached and the zippers still work. There are more jaunts to take.

More From KYBB-FM / B102.7