Call it fair warning for motorists in South Dakota.

Anthony Wright/KSOO-AM

The Highway Patrol says sobriety checkpoints will be conducted in 18 counties in the state during the month of December, some in or near the Sioux Falls area, some at the other end of the state and some in-between.

SDHP identifies the counties as: Tripp, Lawrence, Hand, Lincoln, Roberts, Meade, Lake, Spink, Hughes, Union, Codington, Gregory, Davison, Pennington, Charles Mix, Brookings, Mellette and Brown.

You've been warned.