Contact Us
Make My Homepage

Huset’s $10,000 Winner


Sunday night, September 8th, marked the end of another season of racing at Huset’s Speedway. $10,000 was on the line for the winner of the top class of outlaw sprints and it was the season championship for all classes.

Ian Madsen in car #18 won the 25 lap main event and cashed in on the big money from Dollar Loan Center. Madsen from St. Mary’s, New South Wales, Australia, captured his third win of the season at Huset’s. The other two races he won there payed $5000 each, so it was a profitable year for him at the facility.

Mark Dobmeier came in second and earned $5000. Terry McCarl was third after setting the quick time in qualifying for a season best six times and four consecutive events. Scott Winters drove the Buffalo Wild Wings car to fourth and Dave Glennon in the #5 car held his own for fifth.

Matt Juhl of Esterville, IA drove the #09 to the win in 360 sprint action. It was Juhl’s second Huset’s win of the year.

In the micro sprints, Trey Thesenvitz of Jasper, MN got his first ever win at the track. The 15 year old led all 12 laps and was very excited in victory lane telling the crowd that he grew up watching the races at Huset’s and it was a dream come true to be standing in victory lane.

In the street stocks, it was a huge event for another driver. Shaun Taylor of Sioux Falls had won 20 features in the hobby stock class before moving up to street stocks last year. He finally got the one he’s worked on two seasons long and that was a street stock victory.

Denny Lottman drove the #62 b mod to a first Huset’s win of 2013 and Dustin Gulbrandson is close to having a private parking spot in victory lane for his #6 car as he stopped there for a fifth time this year.

At the conclusion of the night, the track champions were named in all six classes.

2013 Huset’s Speedway Track Champions:

  • 410 Outlaw Sprint: #13 Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, ND (5th track title, 5 wins in 2013)
  • 360 Sprints: #09 Matt Juhl, Esterville, IA (1st title, 2 wins in 2013)
  • Micro Sprints: #7F Shane Fick, Brandon, SD (2nd straight title, 2 wins in 2013)
  • Street Stocks: #22 Gary Brown, Jr., Brandon, SD (7th title/ 3rd straight, 2 wins in 2013)
  • B Mods: #7M Miah Christensen, Sioux Falls, SD (1st title, 2 wins in 2013)
  • Hobby Stocks: #71 Zach Olivier, Sioux Falls, SD (1st title, 3 wins in 2013)


Best of B102.7

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for B102.7 VIP Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive B102.7 VIP Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.