Aerosmith's Steven Tyler and Joe Perry will be awarded the prestigious ASCAP Founders Award at its upcoming 30th annual Pop Music Awards. The invitation-only gala will take place on April 17th at L.A.'s Loews Hollywood Hotel. In addition to the award, the event celebrates the top songwriters and publishers of ASCAP's most performed pop songs of 2012.

Steven Tyler said in a statement: "To be recognized by ASCAP with the Founders Award is a huge achievement. It is humbling for Joe and me to be honored for our music alongside the likes of Stevie Wonder, Neil Young, Paul McCartney and Joni Mitchell. It's been a life-long love affair and it's far from over. Besides, any society that lets Tom Waits in. . . I'm there!"

Joe Perry added: "As songwriters, it is a great honor to have ASCAP recognize Steven and me with the Founders Award. We join an incredible list of honorees and we are grateful to ASCAP for their support throughout our career."