President Obama signed the disaster declaration pledging funds to help 14 South Dakota counties and two Native American Reservations financial help to recover from the October blizzard.

The storm dumped over four feet of snow in areas of western South Dakota, causing an estimated $38 million in damage including tens of thousands of head of cattle. The disaster declaration allows the federal government to cover up to 75% of eligible costs.

Six counties experienced record snowfall October 4-5, 2013. Counties eligible for assistance are Butte, Corson, Custer, Dewey, Fall River, Haakon, Harding, Jackson, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington, Perkins, Shannon and Ziebach, as well as the Cheyenne River and Pine Ridge reservations.