David Bowie is celebrating his 66th birthday today (Tuesday) by releasing his first new music in nearly a decade.

Just after midnight, a message was posted on his Facebook account alerting fans to visit his official website with the words, "Think we're in for a big surprise...This is really turning out to be quite some birthday!" above a big question mark.

Once fans click through to Bowie's site, they learned his new single "Where Are We Now?," produced by long-time collaborator Tony Visconti, is now available via iTunes and a video for the track has been posted on the site via Vimeo. And, "The Next Day", Bowie's first studio album since 2003's Reality, will be released March 12th in the U.S. The album, Bowie's 30th studio effort, can be pre-ordered now via iTunes in a standard edition and a deluxe version featuring three bonus tracks.

Bowie has been a virtual recluse since suffering a heart attack in 2004, but he does appear in the new video -- or at least his head does.

clip of where are we now

The Next Day tracklisting:

1. The Next Day
2. Dirty Boys
3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
4. Love Is Lost
5. Where Are We Now?
6. Valentine's Day
7. If You Can See Me
8. I'd Rather Be High
9. Boss Of Me
10. Dancing Out In Space
11. How Does The Grass Grow
12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat

Bonus tracks:
15. So She
16. I'll Take You There
17. Plan