Contact Us
Make My Homepage

Aerosmith, Foreigner Honored at Songwriters Hall of Fame

Songwriters Hall of Fame

Last night (June 13th), Aerosmith’s Steven Tyler and Joe Perry along with long-estranged Foreigner co-founders Mick Jones and Lou Gramm, were inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame at Manhattan’s Marriott Marquis Hotel. Both Jones and Gramm, who parted ways in 2003 when Gramm quit the band, have suffered from health problems over recent years, with Gramm surviving a brain tumor and Jones recently undergoing open-heart surgery. Gramm, who still performs and is a born again Christian, was replaced by current lead singer Kelly Hansen in 2005. Foreigner was inducted by Billy Joel, and Jones and Gramm reunited to perform “Juke Box Hero” and “I Want To Know What Love Is” to a massive standing ovation.

Steven Tyler and Joe Perry were inducted by Nickleback’s Chad Kroeger and Ryan Peake, who performed “Sweet Emotion” before doing the honors. Afterwards, the “Toxic Twins” took the stage for an event stealing rendition of “Walk This Way.”

Other inductees last night included Don Henley and Glenn Frey’s frequent Eagles collaborator, J.D. Souther — inducted by Peter Asher, ’60s British songsmith Tony Hatch — inducted by Petula Clark, and ’80s songwriter Holly Knight — inducted by Patty Smyth. The 2013 Pioneer Award was presented to Motown founder, Berry Gordy, Jr. by Smokey Robinson with a slightly self-serving and at times rambling speech. Elton John and longtime lyricist Bernie Taupin were honored with the prestigious Johnny Mercer Award by an extremely horse Sting, who opened the show with a performance of “Saturday Night’s Alright For Fighting.” Sam Cooke’s “A Change Is Gonna Come” was saluted as this year’s Towering Song.

Best of B102.7

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for B102.7 VIP Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive B102.7 VIP Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.